Paye Baker antique silver jewelry
Paye Baker antique silver jewelry (1900-1950s)
The history of one of the oldest American silverware companies Paye & Baker Mfg. Co. began in 1900 in North Attleboro, Massachusetts. However, the company’s predecessor was Simmons & Paye Co., founded by Charles Paye and Jessie O. Simmons in 1896 in Providence, Rhode Island. The name change of the company occurred in 1900 when Frank L. Baker became the second owner of the company, succeeding Jessie O. Simmons. In addition, the owners of the revitalized company, along with their families and workshops, moved to North Attleboro, Massachusetts.
The company continued the production of silver items – napkin holders, elegant serving and souvenir spoons, figured forks, matchboxes, ashtrays, handbags, cigarette cases, belt buckles, buttons, etc. Meanwhile, jewelry included Art Nouveau brooches, pendants, rings, and hatpins. Also, silver jewelry included teddy bear jewelry, hair combs, celluloid products, and more.
The company’s marking is unique in its design – these are three separate P & B signs inside three hearts and the word sterling.
Notably, in the 1950s, Paye & Baker Mfg. Co. ceased to exist, absorbed by the Bishop Company.