Kaleidoscope effect

Jewellery kaleidoscope

Airoldi vintage costume jewelry

Airoldi vintage costume jewelry

Flower bouquet in a vase vintage brooch. Gold plated silver, gripoix glass. 5.3 cm. Airoldi vintage costume jewelry

Airoldi vintage costume jewelry

The history of costume jewelry brand Airoldi, founded by Francesco and Anna Airoldi, began 50 years ago in the Italian city of Brescia. From the very beginning the family business on manufacture of fashion accessories, bags, and jewellery was successful.
Entirely made in Italy, all Airoldi jewelry has become synonymous with refined style, fine craftsmanship and attention to detail. When making earrings, brooches, pendants, rings, bracelets and necklaces by hand, designers used silver, gold plated, Gripois glass, rhinestones and crystals.
Operating since 1974 in Italy, the brand was also registered in the USA in 1987.
Remarkably, the family business is still active and is now headed by two daughters, Francesca and Alessandra Airoldi. In their view, quality, reliability and customer care are values and their philosophy has not changed.
Read more »

L Fonts vintage costume jewelry

L Fonts vintage costume jewelry

Brooch and earrings. 12 K gold, jade. 1970s. L Fonts vintage costume jewelry

L Fonts vintage costume jewelry (1973-1978)

The history of fine L’Fonts costume jewelry marked “L’F” lasted a short period from 1973 to 1978. Launched by a Providence-based conglomerate Amtel, Inc., in Houston, Texas, L’Fonts Ltd Designers’ Collection jewelry was sold in branded boxes with a little information on a paper tag.

According to reports, the Amtel corporation headed by its president Jerome Ottmar (June 13, 1916 – May 13, 1993), employed about 300 people and had two factories for the production of costume jewelry. In addition, Amtel had subsidiaries in the Bronx, New York, where about 125 craftsmen worked. Besides, they had industrial plants in Chicago, Houston, Kansas, and Los Angeles, which employed from 100 to 300 people, including office workers.

Amtel’s designers used high-quality materials – 12 or 14 karat gold, carved shells, cultured pearls, opals, jade, amethyst and other natural stones – to create exquisite filigree jewelry.
Amtel, which Jerome Ottmar had led since 1958, ceased to exist after his retirement in 1978. Noteworthy, Mr. Ottman completely left the jewelry business, taking up other business.

Read more »

Roger Michael vintage costume jewelry

Roger Michael vintage costume jewelry

Filigree flower gold tone brooch pin. 1980s. Roger Michael vintage costume jewelry

Roger Michael vintage costume jewelry
Born in November 1937 in Providence, Rhode Island, Roger V. Scungio founded his family business, Roger Michael Ltd., in 1983. The company was registered at 20 Austin Avenue, Greenville, Rhode Island.

Initially, it was a small team of 15 jewelers creating accessories, gifts and costume jewelry under the leadership of Roger (President), his wife Jean D Scungio (Vice President) and Melody Betters (General Manager).

Jewelers have traditionally used gold-toned metal alloys and multi-colored rhinestones to create classic and intricate designer pieces by hand. The manufacturer’s trademark includes the markings “Roger Michael” in script and “pat. pend.”

Notably, Roger was also the owner of the jewelry company RVS Mfg & Co (founded in 1976) and Ceramic City (founded in 1988) in Johnston, Rhode Island.
Ornate scarf clips, pins, brooches and pendants, made primarily in the 1980s by Roger V. Scungio, are extremely rare on the vintage jewelry market today and are highly collectible.

Read more »

Richard Serbin vintage costume jewelry

Richard Serbin vintage costume jewelry

The Phantom of The Opera inspired mask brooch pin of gold tone. 1988. Richard Serbin vintage costume jewelry

Richard Serbin vintage costume jewelry
New York based fashion and jewelry designer Richard A. Serbin (b. 1957) founded his first company Richard Serbin, Ltd in April 1982. Noteworthy, before opening his business, the young designer had already worked in the company of the legendary jeweler David Webb.

Registered at 200 Park Ave, NY, the company created exquisite jewelry and successfully sold it in major stores such as Neiman-Marcus, Saks Fifth Avenue and Bergdorf-Goodmans.

Inspired by classics, fashion shows, royal luxury and the legendary opera (Phantom of the Opera), Ricky Serbin created jewelry in the form of crowns, Maltese crosses, regalia, and theater masks. The designer traditionally created jewelry using gilding, silvering, high-quality Austrian crystals and rhinestones.

He made jewelry for such iconic designers as Oscar de la Renta, Adolfo, Fabrice, Ball Blass, Nipon, and his works appeared on the pages of famous fashion magazines.

Enjoying success, Serbin founded Richard Serbin Hats, Inc., and Richard Serbin Fine Jewelry, Inc., in New York in 1985. Later, he opened the eponymous jewelry company in Middletown, Rhode Island (1991).

Serbin currently resides in San Francisco, California, and his works, created primarily in the 1980s, are now highly collectible.
Read more »

Signed Roget vintage costume jewelry

Signed Roget vintage costume jewelry

Whimsical green eyed cat pendant. Textured gold tone, jadeite chips. 1980s. Signed Roget vintage costume jewelry

Signed Roget vintage costume jewelry (1971-1980s)
The history of the ROGE’T™ costume jewelry brand began fifty years ago in Oakland, New Jersey, and lasted less than two decades. First used in 1971 and registered in 1976, the ROGE’T trademark, owned by M.G.M. Incorporated, ceased to exist in 1998. Noteworthy, the corporation mainly specialized in the production of cosmetics and perfumes.

The classic design of Roge’t jewelry traditionally includes elements of filigree, the use of textured and polished patterns, gild and silver plating, enamel, and semi-precious stones. The manufacturer’s mark is a stylized inscription ROGE’T™.

Like many cosmetics companies of the 1970-80s, M.G.M. produced limited series of costume jewelry for advertising purposes – charms, chains, necklaces, brooches and earrings. Among most famous cosmetics companies that launched costume jewelry lines were such iconic brands as Guy Laroche, Yves Rocher, Avon, Helena Rubinstein, Lancôme and many others.
Read more »

Two Hands vintage costume jewelry

Two Hands vintage costume jewelry

Church artisan brooch and earrings. Gold tone, enamel. 1990s. Two Hands vintage costume jewelry

Two Hands vintage costume jewelry
The history of the “Two Hands” costume jewelry trademark began in Providence, Rhode Island in 1992 and lasted a little more than a decade. The corporation, led by Linda A. Brunini (b. 1948, president) and Jonathan J. Zucchi (b. 1950, general manager), produced products ranging from sportswear and photo frames to children’s books and costume jewelry.

Two Hands Inc., which employed 35 craftsmen, made jewelry with the use of gold plating, handpainted cloisonne enamel and rhinestones. The designs of pins and earrings traditionally feature holiday motifs – Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Easter, Mother’s Day, etc. According to the statement printed on branded cards, the company aimed to help children with disabilities.
Noteworthy, in addition to Two hands, the company owned “Accents” costume jewelry trademark.
Incorporated in 1993, Two Hands Inc ceased to exist in 2005. Linda Brunini, 74, currently lives in Florida.
Read more »

Signed Jeray vintage costume jewelry

Signed Jeray vintage costume jewelry

Mr Duck gold tone clear rhinestones brooch pin. 1950s. Signed Jeray vintage costume jewelry

Signed Jeray vintage costume jewelry
The history of the Jeray costume jewelry brand began in 1946, founded by New England Glass Works Inc. which operated in Providence, Rhode Island from 1911-1958.

Led by Louis Eugene Hirsch (November 17, 1913 – January 1, 2007), Jeray produced high-quality costume jewelry using metal alloys, gold and silver. The jewelry is characterized by filigree floral and foliage patterns embellished with vibrant rhinestones.
Noteworthy, iconic American designer Norman Bel Geddes (1893–1958) and cartoonist Betty Betz (1920–2010) made jewelry for Jeray. In this case, they added their names to the original logo, a stylized word Jeray written in a cursive font.

According to 1946-1954 copyright cards issued by the U.S. Copyright Office, New England Glass Works Inc., doing business as Jeray, filed patents on several pieces of jewelry in 1950.
Although there was also Jeray jewelry trademark (1943-1950), owned by Rice-Weiner & Co, however, their stamp is different in style as it includes block letters.

Read more »